Choose a different region to see prices in your local currency
You can always change this later from the main navigation.
Continue

Apple Watch: Your Essential Running Companion

Preparing for the London Marathon this week? Discover how your Apple Watch can help you unlock the full potential of your run.
Explore Now
LightDark
LightDark
Sign In

Home/Blog/iPhone Storage Saving Tips
background
Technical
26 Jul 2021 · 3 minutes read
· by Mairead Bond

iPhone Storage Saving Tips

"Storage Almost Full" - the dreaded message that every iPhone user fears receiving.

Read our top tips below to learn how to save iPhone space and ensure this frustrating message doesn’t appear anymore!

1. Manage Storage
There's an easy way to find out which apps are taking up the most space. Open the Settings app and then go to: General < iPhone Storage
 
At the top of the screen you will see how much space you've used and you have remaining. Below that you will see exactly how much space each app is taking up. This will give you a clear idea on which apps you need to manage or just get rid of.
 



2. Recently Deleted Photos
Photos and videos can very easily take up your iPhone's storage, so deleting some would seem like a good idea, right? Technically, yes, but do remember to go to the recently deleted album and delete them one last time!
 
To do this, just scroll to the bottom of your Photos album section, and you will find your hidden collection of recently deleted photos and videos. Once they're deleted from here, they will be gone forever - as well as all the storage they were hogging!
 
 

3. Empty Safari's Data

Safari’s data is made up of cookies and your browsing history. Clearing both of these is a great way to free up some space on your iPhone. 

To clear them, go to: Settings > Safari > Clear History and Website Data. 

4. Delete Messages
iOS automatically saves your messages and pictures permanently. Audio clips and videos recorded from the Messages app are set to expire after a couple minutes by default, but they won't expire if they're made outside the Messages app. This means there could be a bunch of videos sneaking around inside your messages, which you may want to delete to get more space.

You can set messages to automatically delete after 30 days. Just open settings and tap: Messages > Keep Messages > 30 Days  

We’d love to know if any of these tips helped you! If they did, let us know on our social platforms below.

Published 26 Jul 2021 by Mairead Bond
Author
Mairead Bond
E-commerce Executive

Since early 2021, Mairead's role includes writing and editing everything to do with the Megamac Blog to provide those tech questions we all need answers to. She is keenly interested in Apple tech, Instagram content and travel.

Share this article
https://www.megamac.eu/blog/iphone-storage-saving-tips
Share using your device's native controls.
Or to your favorite social network.

You might also be interested in...

Latest from the blog

Take a look at some of our recent blog posts.